Sunday, September 04, 2005

MSPL, India's Largest Producer Of Wind Energy

Posted on 22 Aug 2005 # UNI

MSPL, India's Largest Producer Of Wind Energy:
Mumbai: MSPL Limited, the flagship company of Baldota Group and the leading private sector company in Iron ore mining and exports and Gases Establishments in the country, has been awarded the ''Highest Investor Award in the field of Renewable Energy'' for 2004-05.

Baldota Group Director Rahul N Baldota received the award at the Rajiv Gandhi Akshay Urja Diwas function organised by Karnataka Renewable Energy Development Limited (KREDL) on Saturday.

Mr Baldota said, ''We are highly pleased that our initiatives have been recognised by the Karnataka government. Baldota Group believes in harnessing green power and our new projects at Jogimatti, Chitradurga District and at Sogi, Bellary District are steps in this direction.'' He said the company had invested about Rs 460 crore during the financial year 2004-05 for installing wind mills of 105 MW.

An ISO 14001 certified company, MSPL has the unique distinction of being India's largest 'Wind Energy' Producer. They have a total installed capacity of 140 MW of Wind Energy as of date that has been put up at an investment of about Rs 650 crore. MSPL Limited alongwith group companies exports about 385 million units of energy to the Karnataka State grid per annum.

One of the major upcoming projects of MSPL Limited in the field of renewable energy for the current financial year 2005-2006 is the expansion of the existing Wind Farm Projects with an additional capacity of 75 MW. This expansion project includes 25 to 30 MW of wind energy projects at Dhule, Maharashtra, 25 to 30 MW of wind energy project on Kappathagudda Hills, Gadag distict and the 15 to 20 MW wind energy project near Hospet.

MSPL will be shortly diversifying into the field of hydro power generation projects in the Nethravathy basin and also in Tunga basin in Karnataka. The company has plans to enter into power trading and power distribution also encouraged by the Electricity Act, 2003.